The Trinidad and Tobago Chess Association concluded its National Junior (Under 20) Championships which was held at the Pan American Life building, St Vincent Street, Port of Spain in January 2017.

The Absolute section saw twelve (12) participants all vying to be champion of the chess board after seven (7) rounds of intense play.

At the end, there was a three-way tie for first place on six (6) points. Alan-Safar Ramoutar of Naparima Boys’ College however reigned supreme on tie breaks. In second place was FM Isaiah McIntosh of Presentation College, San Fernando and third was FM Joshua Johnson of Fatima College.

The Female section comprised (5) participants and four (4) rounds. WFM Gabriella Johnson of St Joseph Convent, Port of Spain triumphed over the competition with a perfect score of four (4) points. WCM Shemilah James of St Francois Girls’ College was second on three (3) points and there was a 3 way tie for third among Marliyah Mason-Philips, Zara La Fleur and Sadiqah Razark. Marliyah came in 3rd on the tie break.


The National Youth Chess Championships took place at the National Cycling Velodrome in Couva over the first week in January. The new National Youth champions are as follows:

Under 8 Absolute- Aidan Chaitram – St. Monica’s Preparatory School
Under 8 Female- Arya Maharaj – Cedar Grove Private School

Under 10 Absolute: Javed Maharaj – Cedar Grove Private School
Under 10 Female: Kailyn Dyaanand – Cedar Grove Private School

Under 12 Absolute; Keagan Ragoobar – Grant Memorial Presbyterian School
Under 12 Female: Zara La Fluer – Atwell’s Educational Institute

Under 14 Absolute: Alan-Safar Ramoutar – Naparima College
Under 14 Female: Anusha Saha – Naparima Girl’s High School

Under 16 Absolute: Mikel Martin – Naparima College
Under 16 Female: Amy Ali – San Fernando Central Secondary School

Under 18 Absolute: FM Isaiah Mc Intosh – Presentation College
Under 18 Female: WFM Gabriella Johnson – St. Joseph’s Convent, POS

Further information can be obtained via the chess results server at:

Congratulations to all winners!

We thank you and look forward to your support in highlighting this and other events in our Chess calendar.

National Youth and Junior Chess Champions 2017
             National Youth and Junior Chess Champions 2017


Nalini Suratsingh


View all posts by