National Chess Championships 2017

The National Open Chess Championship and National Women’s Chess Championship shall be held at 7th Floor, Pan American Life Building, St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain over the following dates:
September  23, 24, 25, 30               2017
October       1, 7, 8, 14, 15, 21, 22   2017
Rounds are at 2.00 p.m. each day.
Results shall be posted after each round and can be found at:

In the Open tournament, 12 players shall be vying for the prestigious title of National Chess Champion. 8-time  and current national Champion, FM Ryan Harper will have to pull out all the stops to retain his title against a very competitive field comprising:

  • FM Adrian WinterAtwell
  • FM Kevin Cupid
  • FM Frank Yee
  • FM Isaiah Mc Intosh
  • FM Mario Merritt
  • Alan-Safar Ramoutar
  • FM Joshua Johnson
  • CM Dev Soondarsingh
  • CM Ravishen Singh
  • CM Esan Witlshire
  • David Jones
On the Female side, defending Women’s Chess Champion, 16 yr-old WIM Gabriella Johnson shall face-off against:
  • WCM Aditi Soondarsingh
  • CM/WFM Shannon Yearwood
  • WCM Shemilah James
  • WFM Sadiqah Razark
  • Amy Ali
  • Anusha Saha
  • Athena Martin
  • Zara La Fleur
We encourage the community to come support the players during the most important event on the local Chess Calendar.
Nalini Suratsingh


View all posts by