CM Vishnu Singh – New Trinidad and Tobago National Chess Champion 2014?

CM Vishnu Singh vs FM Ryan Harper
CM Vishnu Singh vs FM Ryan Harper
Thanks to Rhand Credit Union for the use of the Hall for the tournament
Thanks to Rhand Credit Union for the use of the Hall for the tournament







Please join the TTCA in congratulating our new National Champion CM Vishnu Singh!

The National Chess Championships-Absolute, concluded on Tuesday 18th November, with CM Vishnu Singh leading the group of 12 participants with 9.5 points.

In close second was FM Joshua Johnson, with 9 points followed by 8-time National Champion, Ryan Harper, on 7.5 points.

The final ranking is as follows:

CM Vishnu Singh
FM Joshua Johnson
FM Ryan Harper
CM Kevin Cupid
FM Mario Merritt
David Jones
CM Adrian Atwell (Tied for 6th)
Hayden Lee
CM Frank Sears (Tied for 8th)
Andrew Bowles
Colin Knight
CM Sean Yearwood
Additional details can be found at:

Vishnu’s top class performance at the finals is consistent with his recent winning performances at the San Fernando Open and Paladins Pan Am Life Open. These achievements complement his academic success in receiving an Open Scholarship from his alma mater, Presentation College, Chaguanas last month.

Some key highlights include the much anticipated game between Vishnu and Joshua last Saturday, with Vishnu getting the upper hand, as well as the match between Vishnu and Ryan, where Vishnu also triumphed.

We thank all players for making 2014’s tournament a success and look forward to more exciting times in chess!

The prize-giving ceremony is being scheduled for December 7, 2014, which is the date proposed for the National Blitz.

Stay tuned for additional details.

We also encourage you to follow the progress of the National Women’s tournament which concludes on Sunday 23rd November, 2014 at Rhand Credit Union. Details can be found on

Nalini Suratsingh


View all posts by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *